Miss Lucy’s Playground Songs

They All Went to Heaven in a Little Row Boat

Posted on: August 8, 2008

My husband suggested this one. He is from Virginia and grew up about 8 years earlier then me. When I heard it, I thought for sure it was a UB40 song. Turns out according to Wikipedia, that UB40 borrowed some of this for their song.

Three, six, nine
The goose drank wine
The monkey chewed tobacco on the streetcar line
The line broke, the monkey got choked
And they all went to heaven in a little row boat

In looking around I found another version.

Source: Wikipedia (under Rhymes from the Fifties)

Three, six, nine
The goose drank wine
The monkey chewed tobacco on the telephone line
The line, it broke
The goose got choked
And they all went to heaven in a small rowboat

Here is another fun version.

Source: Mudcat

Once upon a time
A goose drank wine
And a monkey chewed tobacco
On a trolley car line

The trolley car broke.
The monkey choked.
And they all went to heaven
On a billy goat.

Here is the UB40 Video:

6 Responses to "They All Went to Heaven in a Little Row Boat"

I heard that rhyme in the 1940s as a little kid and I’m sure it was old then. I think it’s a jump-rope song:
Once upon a time,
The goose drank wine,
And the monkey chewed tobacco on the streetcar line.
The monkey choked, the streetcar broke,
And they all went to heaven
On a little billy goat.

my mom used to sing the first song to me all the time. Love that song!

In the late 40’s – My mother sang:

once upon a time the goat drank wine
the monkey chewed tobacco on the street car line
The street car broke, the monkey choked
they all went to heaven but the little nanny goat

this is what my Grandfather used to sing to us:
Once upon a time a goose drank wine running down the streetcar line the streetcar broke the monkey choked and they all went to heaven on a billy goat.

My Grandad sang to me

Three Six Nine,
The Goose drank wine
The monkey chewed tobacco on a streetcar-line
The line broke, the monkey got choked,
They all went to hell on a little rowing boat.

my mom always said: once upon a time a goose drank wine, a monkey chewed tobacco on the street line, an elephant snezzed fell on it’s knees
the street car broke the monkey choked and they all went to heaven in
a little green boat.

Leave a Reply

Live Traffic Feed

