Miss Lucy’s Playground Songs

Thumbkin

Posted on: August 28, 2008

Source: Kididdles

(Start with hands behind back)
Where is thumbkin?
Where is thumbkin?
Here I am
(Bring right hand to front, with thumb up)
Here I am.
(Bring left hand to front, with thumb up)
How are you this morning?
Very well, I thank you.
(Wiggle thumbs as if they’re ‘talking’ to each other)
Run away
(Hide right hand behind back)
Run away.
(Hide left hand behind back)

I recall this song ending with the line:

Run away. Run and play.

Check out this video found on YouTube with Cullen. She is so cool.

On another web site, Sponder Works, I see that there are other verses. I think I knew the pointer one but the others are new to me.

Where is thumbkin, where is thumkin?
Here I am, here I am
How are you today sir?
Very well I thank you
Run away, run away

Where is pointer, where is pointer?
Here I am, here I am
How are you today sir?
Very well I thank you
Run away, run away

Where is tall man, where is tall man?
Here I am, here I am
How are you today sir?
Very well I thank you
Run away, run away

Where is ring man, where is ring man?
Here I am, here I am
How are you today sir?
Very well I thank you
Run away, run away

Where is pinky, where is pinky?
Here I am, here I am
How are you today sir?
Very well I thank you
Run away, run away

Where’s whole family, where’s whole family?
Here we are, here we are
How are you today?
Very well we thank you
Run away, run away

Sponder Works has another version to that goes:

Oh, where is thumbkin, where is thumbkin, where could thumbkin be?
Oh, here I am, oh here I am as you can plainly see
How are you today?
Very well I thank you
Run, run away

Leave a Reply

Live Traffic Feed

