I’m Looking Over a Four-Leaf Clover

I don’t think this one is a kid’s song but my mom used to sing it to me as a child.

I’m looking over a four-leaf clover
That I overlooked before.
One leaf is sunshine, the second is rain,
Third is the roses that grow in the lane.
No need explaining, the one remaining
Is somebody I adore.
I’m looking over a four-leaf clover
That I overlooked before

Here is what Wikipedia has to say about this song: “I’m Looking Over a Four Leaf Clover” is a song from 1927, written by Mort Dixon with music by Harry M. Woods. It was a hit for Art Mooney in 1948 and was largely popularized by him. In modern times the song is perhaps most associated with Merrie Melodies cartoons, as it appeared in several of them.

One thought on “I’m Looking Over a Four-Leaf Clover

  1. Okay, so I’m showing my age here:
    In the late 1960s, Wayne Newton recorded this song, and it was quite popular on the easy listening stations. My dad had Wayne’s Greatest Hits LP, and that’s why I know this!

Leave a comment